

Setting up thresholds in LHC **Beam Loss Monitors**





Darmstad 2009

Abstract: LHC Beam Loss Monitoring system contains almost 4000 sensors protecting various elements of the machine against damage due to the beam losses. The procedures to obtain the beam-abort threshold settings are presented. Specific cases are discused: cold magnets, Inner Triplet case where BLM protection is limited and Collimators. The object-oriented software library to perform the threshold table unfolding is presented together with user interface to the threshold database.



for example: Cold Magnets

(with A. Priebe, Ch. Kurfuerst)

Main cases, precisely simulated:

• MQ – loss on the interconnection



for example: Triplet magnets

(with Ch. Hoa, A. Mereghetti, F. Cerutti)





Conclusions and Acknowledgments

The initial settings of quench-preventing thresholds for the LHC elements has been done, based on work of many people:

- Simulation of the BLM response function (Ionisation Chamber and Secondary Emission Monitor)
- Simulations, calculations and measurements of the Quench Margin of the magnet coils,
- Simulations of proton interactions and shower development inside the magnet (Geant4, FLUKA)
- Database and software development... not even speaking about complex electronics!
- The first beam-induced quenches of MB magnet (2008) provided interesting data, which validate the simulations and could help to determine the systematic difference between simulations and reality.

Credits:

The Geant4 geometry of the magnet has been programmed mainly by Agnieszka Priebe. The work is at the end of a long chain of thresholds simulations, among many references see: • Jeanneret J.B. et al. LHC Project Note 44 (1996)

- A. Arauzo LHC Project Note 238 (dispersion supressor)
- E. Gschwendtner, L. Ponce, R. Bruce (thesis) and others
- The key people, authors of the concepts: Bernd Dehning, Christos Zamntzas, Barbara Holzer and other colleagues from BE-BI-BL

Many thanks to: David Schiebol and Nikolai Schwerg (ROXIE), Elena Benedetto, Chiara Bracco, Thomas Weiler, Mike Lamont, Markus Stockner, Daniel Kramer, Chris Roderick, Ralph Assman, Simone Gilardoni, Markus Brugger, Elias Lebbos and Geant4 team especially Alexander Howard and Gunter Folger and others.